I’ve Got the Sun in the Morning and the Moon at Night

15 Mar

Monday was just one of those days for me. It was sunny, warm and pleasant outside but inside, I felt like doodie. My math homework was unfinished, my car’s tires were looking rather saggy and to top it all off, I still have no clue as to what I am doing next semester. Should I stay where I am? Should I go? Should I work full-time? Is it even an option not to? Life was looking pretty glum.

Then I turned on the radio. Now you have to understand, the seemingly simple act of turning on the radio can be a volatile twist of the wrist when it comes to me. As I mentioned once before, I am a Word person. When I say that I am a “Word person” I do not mean to convey that I am irreversibly smitten with Microsoft software. I am very astute and meticulous when it comes to words, specifically in lyrical form. So when I’m in a mood, be it gleeful, morose or complicated, the words of the radio are going to either soothe or inflame that mood.

When my mood is of the morose variety, I tend to not want to listen to anything. Sappy love songs make me want to throw an ax. It’s a good thing I don’t have one. Sad songs are sometimes cathartic yet most of the times are so dissimilar from my personal crisis that I turn them off anyway…So when I flicked the jazz station on that heinous Monday morning, I wasn’t doing so with high hopes.

But then I heard these following lyrics:

Got no diamonds got no pearls

Still I think I’m a lucky girl

I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night

Got no mansion got no yacht

Still I’m happy with what I got

I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night

 

“Whoa!” was my first thought, ” Good morning, G-d!” Usually I turn on the radio and feel like crud but this time…this time I was starting to feel light and alright. The Pacific has been rocked by tsunamis and hurricanes. An innocent Israeli family was slaughtered. The Middle East is starting to look like the Bronx Zoo without bars. What the heck am I complaining about? I don’t have my life in perfect order? I’m struggling with decisions? I’m feeling kind of alone? It’s normal to feel bummed out about those things. It can even be considered necessary in order to move me forward in life, but there is so much I do have. The difference between my pain and the pains of those in Japan, Israel and the rest of the Middle East is that I can change my situation. I have choices in the matter. They don’t. What’s gone is gone. What’s happened is over and done with, never to be repaired. And as I look at my life and wonder, “what I am supposed to do with it and how,” I remember that G-d has given me so much. Maybe my lack of appreciation has got in the way. Maybe what I really need to do is stop wondering and start thanking. Just life. Think, but not too much. Plan. Stop being afraid of the closed doors and search for the open ones.  I am a “lucky” girl. I’m a blessed girl. Sometimes it takes turning on the radio to hear that.


2 Responses to “I’ve Got the Sun in the Morning and the Moon at Night”

  1. MSW March 22, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    How is it that you’re able to say what I need to hear?
    great mussar lesson – via the jazz station.

    • Coral Cap March 23, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      Ida know…I must be psychic 🙂

Leave a Reply

