Happy Birthday to Me!

23 Feb

My greatest apologies for being MIA as of late. I’ve recently come to the daunting realization that ranting, mocking and philosophizing can get tiresome. In writer’s jargon, you might call it “writer’s block.” However, that will not stop me from commemorating my one year anniversary as a blogger. And I’m not just any blogger, I’m a shidduch blogger.

Having had one yer of experience, I wonder, how did I think I’d have so much to say about dating? Yeah, some of your out there can do it, and I am nothing less than amazed. Having something new to say every day about the art of finding one’s spouse…that’s pretty cool.

So what have I learned in the past year? I definitely have more experience. I’m not sure that makes me all that much wiser, but it’s something. I’ve learned to let go of the past in a way I never fully did. I’ve learned to be more proactive; to take the weaving of my future into my own hands. To go for what I want and not wait around for others to find that for me.

But what I’ve learned so well in the past, and still am in the process of learning is that G-d is in control. Even if it feels like I’m calling the shots, even if it seems like my choices determine certain outcomes, it’s not true. That doesn’t mean we can just sit back and relax. A life without effort, a life without toil is miserable. A life that knows no trials is one of destitution. Great things must be earned. An imperative part of great things being great is that they require effort. We would never appreciate the profundity of what it means to be alive if we didn’t have to choose priorities in life. That’s what Hashem wants us to do. He wants us to choose what matters. He wants us to own every footstep and every heartbeat just as much as He does. We’ll never be able to choose how things turn out, but we can choose how to view the world.

With G-d’s help, I have much more to write and much more to give. To those of you who have been following me, I thank you with utmost gratitude. You’ve given my thoughts a place to go other than the innards of my heart. You’ve given them life. Here is to another wonderful year!

Coral Cap

One Response to “Happy Birthday to Me!”

  1. SternGrad February 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Happy Blogoversary, Coral!

    I really enjoy reading your blog, and look forward to reading more posts in the future!

Leave a Reply

