How You Met the Real Deal

27 Oct

Calm down, calm down, I’m not engaged. As far as I know I haven’t met my RD yet, though if you know who he is, please, feel free to let me know.

Really, this post is a question asking how did you meet your RD and how did you know that indeed s/he the Real Deal.

If you, like I, have not yet solidified who the RD is, then tell a story of how someone else met their RD (perhaps your parents, a sibling, a friend, etc).

Please try to include the following points:

1) Did you know from the start or did you begin to know gradually?

2) Were there sparks at first sight or did you steadily build a connection?

3) How long did you know your RD before going out with them?

4) What was your first impression of your RD?

5) When the idea of going out with them was brought to you/came to mind did you think, “nice idea”, “no way”, or did it kinda just roll out the backdoor of your brain like what you learned in Stat class?

Looking forward to your comments!!

2 Responses to “How You Met the Real Deal”

  1. Chana October 28, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    So I have a post that pretty much explains all of this. Here is the link and if you have any more questions, I’ll be happy to answer them.

  2. Ariella October 31, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    1) I knew right away that he was the guy for me, even if I couldn’t really explain why or how I knew.

    2) There was a connection and a rightness, but the sparks for me didn’t come until later, even after we were engaged. I knew they would come, though. But they came pretty quick for him 😉

    3) We went on 6 dates over 3 weekends before we got engaged. Honestly? I have no idea what happened. It just did.

    4) Tall 🙂 (I’m pretty short). Very, very smart. Driven, confident, ambitious, calm, clearheaded, funny and sweet. He makes a good first impression!

    5) When he was “redt” to me I thought the woman on the phone was joking – he sounded too good to be true. All the guys I had gone out with before sounded equally good or at least OK on paper, and were awful. But thankfully, she wasn’t lying.

    At the end of the day, my dating/engagement period was a whirlwind, but not a “head over heels in love” one. I met him, and I just knew he was the one for me, even if it took a few dates for me to become attracted to him (he was very different than the type I was usually attracted to). It was sort of like, “Ok, I know we’re getting married. I just have to come around to the idea.” It was pure hashkagacha. I can’t give a good explanation for anything I did. But I just….knew.

    Hope this helps a bit! Btw, saying this as a person married for over 3 years, so it’s not like I’m still a googly-eyed newlywed (thought most of the time I totally am ;)).

Leave a Reply

