The Broken Printer Feeling

13 Jun

I once prided myself on disassembling and reassembling my Savti’s 10 year old CD player without the passe-partout of an instructional manual, hotline or man. However, I learned quickly that the difference between fixing a CD player and a printer is similar to that of assembling a moped and a Boeing 747. Some computer geek experience would have been helpful, or the assistance of a professional, but of course, I chose to rely on the expertise of the HP tech support staff.

My Common Sense radar must have been off that day.

Instead of being practical and admitting, “hey, I can’t do this myself,” I went ahead and tried to jam the loose piece back into its space of origin, with the guidance of the Englishly challenged tech support guy over the phone. When part of the piece snapped, I had no one to turn to. “Ray” was 8,000 miles away in the Philippines, and since teleportation hasn’t been invented yet, his job was done. I had been defeated. I was no match for the Office Jet pro L7780, it was just fact.

And as I put the phone back in its cradle and pensively took advantage of the swiveling office chair, I got a feeling. I don’t get it too often; maybe here and there when I have to drag my bags from the bus to the train to wherever I am going to, but overall I’m a self-sufficient gal. I screw in light bulbs, I take out the trash, I pump my own gas (only those from NJ can truly appreciate this accomplishment), so really, I do have a lot under control.

But every now and then I get that feeling. Wouldn’t it be nice if someone around here know how to deal with upset printer parts? Wouldn’t it be nice if someone around here had big, strapping arms that would lovingly drag my luggage from the bus to the train to wherever we were going? Wouldn’t it be nice if I had someone to share all these responsibilities with? I mean, taking out the garbage by myself is okay, but it there is a chance it could be, dare I say, enjoyable if I had someone to take it out with. You know, I’d lift the lid and he’d put in the bags or I’d take recycling, he’d take the trash and we’d see who could push their can to the curb faster. I know marriage isn’t a basket full of fun and I know my future husband and I will probably be tired from work and won’t always have the energy to have garbage-themed relay races every week…but I can look forward to the friendship and partnership, right? Hopefully my future husband and I will work to keep the magic alive; make the mundane activities of our lives fun.

I brought my swiveling to a stop, placed the printer piece aside the printer and turned out the office lights. I’d deal with the printer later. I’d be able to figure it out. Eventually. Maybe next time I have to fix or assemble something, be it a printer or a coat stand or an electric can opener, I’ll have someone to figure it out with. I look forward to solving matters together, from the complex to the simple. I look forward to the friendship and trust and two people can build, b’ezrat Hashem. I look forward to the simple things.

5 Responses to “The Broken Printer Feeling”

  1. feivelbenmishael June 13, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    “I know my future husband and I will probably be tired from work and won’t always have the energy to have garbage-themed relay races every week…”

    This is the best line ever!

    Did you try finding instructions or a diagram on the internet?

    You may have broke the piece but points for effort.

    Good luck!

  2. coralcap June 14, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I should copyright it 😉

    Oh yes I tried and there is nothing out there. Eventually my computer guy figured it out but it was too late b/c the piece itself broke and now I need to get a replacement one.

    If only effort alone would do the trick!

  3. Bored Jewish Guy June 14, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    I think I’m going to blame you for causing me to destroy my iphone. I’ve been taking things apart since I was a kid and I consider myself to be very good at stuff like that, but today I trusted the wrong set of instructions and iphone = permanently damaged. I did not find myself wishing that I had a wife to help, I guess it’s a girl thing 🙂

  4. coralcap June 16, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Wow, I get the blame? What an honor. I also liked to take things apart and put them back together as a kid. One time I got a CD stuck in my Savti’s 20 year old CD player (gosh I forget how old I am sometimes). So, being the stubborn kid that I was, I decided to xolve the problem myself, so, I got a screw driver, slowly dissected the contents of the massive machine and eventually was able to extract my CD. Then I put it back together and felt very proud of myself. That was a success story. The printer story is not, I’m afraid.

    Sorry about you iPhone 😦

    It definitely is a girl thing. The male mentality is to be The Man. Even in our day in age when feminism wears the pants in society, anyone who’s really feminine enjoys being rescued by a knight in shining armor on occasion.

    • Bored Jewish Guy June 17, 2010 at 1:03 am #

      Yeah, you get the blame 🙂 I don’t remember most of the times I took things apart and put them back together, it’s the times I couldn’t put them back together that I remember. Like when I took apart my parents record player (that should make me feel old), or the time I took apart my father’s garage door opener and walkie talkie and tried to make the walkie talkie open the garage door. Believe it or not, none of those worked out very well.

      It’s ok, it was time for a new phone anyway, I almost ordered the new iphone yesterday, but apparently about a million other people had the same idea.

Leave a Reply

