Quote For Thought: “I Meant What I Said…”

28 May

I meant what I said and I said what I meant…an elephant’s faithful one hundred percent.

— Dr. Suess’s “Horton Hatches the Egg”

 

The older I get, the more I appreciate Dr. Suess. I don’t remember exactly when I first heard this quote; it’s one of those lines I feel like I was born knowing. I wasn’t much of a Horton fan when I was a kid, but still, somehow I always knew elephants are faithful one hundred percent. Recently I found a reading of the book on Youtube and was truly marveled by the story this quote originates from. If you have 11 minutes to spare, you can see it for yourself:

Part 1:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIlPFUE91Fk

Part 2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNa-HLcc7hY

 

To be a person of such moral strength is to be the Real Deal.

 

Good Shabbos!

Leave a Reply

