An Ode to Tater Tots

28 Mar

I am hungry. Not in a starving way, thank G-d, but I am hungry. It probably has something to do with my kitchen being kosher for Passover. Slowly but surely, like the mound of snow which once graced my front yard, the rotound bulge which poignantly characterized my refrigerator and cabinets has diminished to a waning pile of refuse food (intended for the unforeseen such as the Apocalypse or World War III). I find a cup of Greek yogurt here and a freezer burned slice of pizza there, but overall the truth is inevitable– the next meal I am not perturbed by will be the Korech sandwich (yup, I like it).

Yet in my dreary solemness; in the shriveling canals of my bemoaning eyes lays a glimmer. It flickers and subsides, but not for good. It’s a brown glimmer; not radiant or shining like a diamond yet it still radiates a peaceful, calming feeling. It is a feeling of satisfaction and contentedness. Its silhouette is bumpy and ridged, beyond the point of renovation. It is what it is, so simple yet immeasurably delightful.

Napoleon Dynamite was right, tater tots are worth fighting for.

What distinguishes from other potato products? It’s hard to say, but one thing is for sure, in a sea of canned soup and jarred gefilte fish, the tater tot remains starchy yet satisfying. Whether topped with ketchup or left au natural, it quenches the palate in ways which few other processed, canned and frozen food can. I am truly blessed to have found this edible elixir in the boundless depths of  my frozen frontier. Passover shall come and go, and the pangs of Pesach hunger shall go with it…but one thing shall remain.

The timeless practicality of the Tater Tot.

5 Responses to “An Ode to Tater Tots”

  1. Princess Lea April 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I’m a potato purist. I’ll take it in any shape or form.

    • coralcap April 7, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

      I like the sound of that. Potato Purist. I think I shall be one too. Maybe one day we can start a blog together and unite all the Potato Purists of the world.

  2. SiBW April 14, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    As a potato fan myself, I thought you might enjoy this 😉 :

  3. coralcap April 14, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    That is definitely one of the most random associations I have ever seen, yet bizarrely in sync with my choice of blogging topics. Thanks for the link 🙂

Leave a Reply

